January 11, 2024

Moorhead Mayor Takes Lead on MFDA Board


Amy Wieser Willson
Metro Flood Diversion Authority
218-535-5359 (cell)  |  amy@neonloon.com

FARGO, ND (January 11, 2024) – Leadership of the Metro Flood Diversion Authority’s Board recently changed with the new year. Moorhead Mayor Shelly Carlson will serve as chairwoman through 2024. Fargo Mayor Dr. Tim Mahoney chaired the Board in 2023.

“I am pleased to once again chair the MFDA Board as the project moves steadily toward the finish line,” Carlson said. “When I joined the board in 2021, there were still many large hurdles to clear, with funding being one of the largest. Through teamwork and partnership, the MFDA cleared those hurdles and is now focused on completing the diversion channel as well as finishing the remaining control structure by 2027. It’s exciting to be part of such a monumental project that will provide permanent, reliable flood protection to our communities for generations to come.”

This is Carlson’s second time serving as Board chairwoman, having previously assumed the role in 2021 when she was appointed mayor. She completed the term of her predecessor, Johnathan Judd.

“With my term as chair ending, I’m pleased that Mayor Carlson will again lead the MFDA Board. This transition is an excellent time to recognize the continued hard work of the Board, community stakeholders and Army Corps officials, whose willingness to form an innovative public-private partnership has allowed us to quickly reach milestones on this crucial project,” Mahoney said.

During his time as chairman, the FM Area Diversion project experienced the most progress to date. Construction wrapped up in 2023 on several components, including two control structures, an I-29 road raise project and a mitigation project at Drayton Dam. Work also began on the diversion outlet and numerous channel crossings. Other components made strong progression, with ASN Constructors excavating 16.8 million cubic yards of material in 2023 for the 30-mile stormwater diversion channel.

“The award recently bestowed on the FM Area Diversion project by the National Academy of Construction honors the diversion team’s creative approach to building a flood protection system that will safeguard the homes and livelihoods of more than 260,000 people,” Mahoney said.

The MFDA Board is led by 13 members who represent stakeholder entities in the Fargo-Moorhead Area Diversion project, which will provide permanent, reliable flood protection to Fargo, North Dakota; Moorhead, Minnesota; and surrounding communities.

Board members are appointed by the Fargo City Commission, Moorhead City Council, Cass County Commission, Clay County Commission, Cass County Joint Water Resource District, and the West Fargo City Commission. The chairperson role rotates among the mayors of the City of Fargo and City of Moorhead as well as a member of the Cass County Commission. Cass County Commissioner Chad Peterson served as chairman in 2022.

About the Metro Flood Diversion Authority

The MFDA is a permanent North Dakota political subdivision that is cooperatively implementing the Fargo-Moorhead Area Diversion comprehensive project with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The MFDA works in partnership with the Red River Valley Alliance in a public-private partnership as well as the City of Fargo, City of Moorhead, Cass County, Clay County and the Cass County Joint Water Resource District. More information is available at www.FMDiversion.gov.

See full press release here

Mayor Shelly Carlson
Moorhead Mayor Shelly Carlson will chair the Metro Flood Diversion Authority Board in 2024.
Mayor Dr. Tim Mahoney
Fargo Mayor Dr. Tim Mahoney recently completed his yearlong term as chairman of the Metro Flood Diversion Authority Board.