

Metro Flood Diversion Authority Special Board of Authority Meeting Minutes

1:00 PM – July 2, 2025 City of Fargo Commission Chambers

A special meeting of the Metro Flood Diversion Authority Board of Authority was held on July 2, 2025. The following members were present: Bernie Dardis, Mayor, City of West Fargo; Dr. Tim Mahoney, Mayor, City of Fargo; Chuck Hendrickson, Moorhead City Council; David Ebinger, Clay County Commissioner; Duane Breitling, Cass County Commissioner; Tony Grindberg, Cass County Commissioner; Rick Steen, Cass County Joint Water Resource District; Dave Piepkorn, Fargo City Commissioner; Kevin Campbell, Clay County Commissioner; Jim Kapitan, Cass County Commissioner; Denise Kolpack, Fargo City Commissioner; Shelly Carlson, Mayor, City of Moorhead and Lisa Borgen, Moorhead City Council.

Member(s) absent: no members were absent.

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Grindberg called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present.

2. APPROVE THE ORDER OF THE AGENDA

MOTION PASSED

Mr. Campbell moved to approve the order of the agenda as presented and Mayor Mahoney seconded the motion. On a voice vote, the motion carried.

3. CLOSED EXECUTIVE SESSION

Closed executive session pursuant to N.D.C.C. § 44-04-19.2 and N.D.C.C. § 44-04-19.1 (2) and (9) for attorney consultation with General Counsel regarding an update of the status of the on-going compensation event claims and to provide negotiations direction regarding such claims relating to the Project Agreement for the Storm Water Diversion Channel and Associated Infrastructure.

MOTION PASSED

Ms. Kolpack moved to go into executive session and Mr. Ebinger seconded the motion. On a roll call vote, the motion carried.

The board retreated to the Red River Room at 1:02 PM. The executive session concluded at 1:15 PM and a quorum returned to the City Commission Chambers.

3. a. APPROVAL ACTION/MOTION

I move to approve the Statement of Principles in substantially the same form as presented today and authorize the chair and executive director to execute the Statement of Principles with any additional changes deemed necessary by the Chair, Executive Director, and General Counsel.

MOTION PASSED

Mayor Mahoney moved to approve the above-referenced motion and Mayor Carlson seconded the motion. On a roll call vote, the motion carried.

4. **NEXT MEETING**

The next meeting will be on July 24, 2025.

5. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Carlson moved to adjourn, and Mr. Ebinger seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 1:31 PM.